Google My Business

What is a Google My Business Account?

A Google My Business account can be considered a combination of an online directory listing and a social media profile.

As with an online directory, business owners create and claim ownership of their Google My Business listing and populate it with vital information such as hours, location, and photos.

As with social media platforms, business owners can publish posts to their Google My Business page. Similar to social media stories, these posts are not permanent—they delete after 7 days. Also similar to social media, customers can upload photos of your business to your listing without leaving a review. However, they can leave a review if they want to.

What is the difference between Google Maps and Google My Business?

As mentioned above, Google My Business is solely the concern of business owners. General consumers do not create an account for, log into, or search Google My Business; they use Maps and Search. Business owners create a Google My Business Listing so they show up in those searches. Google My Business also provides business owners with tools to gain insights into their audience.

Google Maps is the public-facing online directory and navigation tool that consumers use to explore and get directions to the products and services they need. A user can search Google Maps itself, but a regular Google search will also pull Maps info for its local results section (located beneath the paid search results and above the organic results).

Anyone can use Google Maps and anyone can add a location to Google Maps. However, to have control over your business listing, you must create a Google My Business profile and claim that listing.